top of page

Candidate Program

Each year young women from across Minnesota come to Minneapolis to represent their communities, participating in the Ambassador Candidate Program during Aquatennial Week. 

The candidates, former ambassadors of their home community or festival, participate in leadership, personal development, and other unique experiences while going through a rigorous selection process to become an Aquatennial Ambassador. A candidate's poise, professionalism, public speaking ability, current and future goals, education and co-curricular/extracurricular activities are evaluated during the selection process.
Those selected to be Aquatennial Ambassadors will travel throughout North America representing the City of Minneapolis and the Aquatennial Festival. At the end of their year, each ambassador receives an educational scholarship in recognition of her service.
Communities looking to participate in the Aquatennial Ambassador Candidate Program are encouraged to contact the Vice Commodore of Candidates.

bottom of page